General Knowledge

Public Sector Banks in India – Complete List

Indian Public Sector Banks

What is the Public Sector Bank?

Public Sector Banks in India – Public Sector Banks (PSBs) are the banks where a majority percentage (more than 50%) stake is held by a government. The shares of these banks are listed on stock exchanges. In India, there are about 27 Public Sector Banks in India.

  • There are a total of 27 PSBs in India – 21 Nationalized banks + 6 State bank group (SBI + 5 associates) and rest two are IDBI Bank and Bharatiya Mahila Bank, which are categorized as other public sector banks.


State Bank and its Associates Banks

Serial NoBank NameHead Quarter/OfficeTagline
1State Bank of IndiaMumbaiThe Nation banks on us;
Pure Banking Nothing Else;
With you all the way
2State Bank of BikanerRajasthan
4State Bank of HyderabadHyderabadYou can always bank on us
5State Bank of MysoreBangaloreWorking for a better tomorrow
3State Bank of PatialaPunjab
6State Bank of TravancoreThiruvananthapuramA Long Tradition of Trust

SBT is set to be merged with State Bank of India with effect from 1st April 2017.


Other Nationalized Banks 

Serial NoBank NameHead Quarter/OfficeTagline
1Allahabad BankKolkataA tradition of trust
2Andhra BankHyderabadWhere India Banks
3Bank of BarodaVadodaraIndia’s International Bank
4Bank of IndiaMumbaiRelationships beyond Banking
5Bank of MaharashtraPuneOne Family One Bank
6Canara BankBangaloreTogether we Can, It’s easy to change for those who you love
7Central Bank of IndiaMumbaiCentral to you since 1911, Build A Better Life Around Us
8Corporation BankMangaloreA Premier Public Sector Bank, Prosperity for all
9Dena BankMumbaiTrusted Family Bank
10Indian BankChennaiYour Tech-friendly bank
11Indian Overseas BankChennaiGood people to grow with
12Oriental Bank of CommerceGurugramWhere every individual is committed
13Punjab National BankNew DelhiThe Name you can Bank Upon
14Punjab & Sind BankNew DelhiWhere series is a way of life
15Syndicate BankManipalFaithful. Friendly
16UCO BankKolkataHonours Your Trust
17Union Bank of IndiaMumbaiGood people to bank with
18United Bank of IndiaKolkataThe Bank that begins with “U”
19Vijaya BankBangaloreA friend You can Bank Upon
20IDBI Bank LtdMumbaiBanking for all; “ Aao Schein Bada”
21Bharatiya Mahila BankNew DelhiEmpowering women, Empowering Ind”
  • There are total 93 commercial banks in India.
  • The Bharatiya Mahila Bank is set to be merged with State Bank of India with effect from 1st April 2017.
  • The Central Government entered the banking business with the nationalization of the Imperial Bank Of India in 1955. A 60% stake was taken by the Reserve Bank of India and the new bank was named as the State Bank of India.
  • The seven other state banks became the subsidiaries of the new bank when nationalized on 19 July 1960. The next major nationalization of banks took place in 1969 when the government of India, under prime minister Indira Gandhi, nationalized an additional 14 major banks.



About the author

Jaya Gupta

Leave a Comment