International Boundary Lines of Major Countries – Complete List

DayTodayGK has prepared a list of International Boundary Lines of Major Countries of the World.

It is very important to know about the International Boundary Lines between major countries. Questions from this topic has appeared in many competitive exams in General Awareness Category.

International Boundary Lines

International Boundary Lines 

S No

In Between Countries

Boundary Line

1. The boundary line between India and Pakistan drawn by Sir Cyril Radcliffe in 1947 Radcliffe Line
2. Boundary line between India and Afghanistan demarcated by Sir Mortimer Durand in 1896.

(Presently it is between Pakistan and Afghanistan)

Durand Line
3. The boundary line between India and China. (It was demarcated by Sir Henry McMahon) McMahon Line
4. The line which Pakistan claims should be the Demarcation line between India and Pakistan, not accepted by India. 20th Parallel
5. The boundary line between India and Myanmar. 24th Parallel
6. Boundary line between Germany and Poland to which German retreated in 1917 during the First World War Hindenberg Line
7. The boundary line between East Germany and Poland Oder‐Neisse Line
8.  The line which defines the boundary between North Vietnam and South Vietnam before the two were united 17th Parallel
9. The boundary line between North Korea and South Korea 38th Parallel
10. The boundary line between United States of America and Canada 49th Parallel
11. Boundary Line between France and Germany Maginot Line
12. Boundary Line between Egypt and Sudan 22nd Parallel North
13. Boundary Line between Libya and Sudan 20th Parallel North
14. Line of fortification drawn by Germany on ots border with France Seigfried Line

Did You Know?

  • The McMahon Line is a line agreed to by Britain and Tibet as part of the Simla Accord, a treaty signed in 1914. It is the effective boundary between China and India, although its legal status is disputed by the Chinese government.
  • The Durand Line is the 2,430-kilometre (1,510 mi) international border. The Afghan Geodesy and Cartography Head Office (AGCHO) depicts the line on their maps as a de facto border, including naming the “Durand Line 2310 km (1893)” as an “International Boundary Line” on their home page
  • On 15 July 1947, the Indian Independence Act 1947 of the Parliament of the United Kingdom stipulated that British rule in India would come to an end just one month later, on 15 August 1947. The Act also stipulated the partition of the Provinces of British India into two new sovereign dominions: the Union of India and the Dominion of Pakistan.

You May Also Like :

Check out our latest videos on youtube