305 cities identified under ‘Housing for All’ scheme

The government of India has identified a total of 305 cities and towns across nine states for implementation of ‘Housing for All’ scheme. The Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation (HUPA) Ministry would provide assistance of over Rs 2 lakh crore over the next six years for enabling two crore urban poor own their own houses. The selected cities and towns are in,

  • Chhattisgarh (36 cities/towns)
  • Gujarat (30)
  • Jammu and Kashmir (19)
  • Jharkhand (15)
  • Kerala (15)
  • Madhya Pradesh (74)
  • Odisha (42)
  • Rajasthan (40)\
  • Telangana (34).
Points to Note

Name of the Scheme – Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

Objective – Housing for all by 2022 (2 crore houses)

Why 2022? – Coinciding with 75 years of Independence.


Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana would target specific groups from the society, which are

  1. Women, irrespective of caste and religion
  2. Economically Weaker Section of Society (EWS)
  3. Scheduled Tribes (ST)
  4. Scheduled Casts (SC)


  1. Phase One – April 2015 to March 2017
  2. Phase Two – April 2017 to March 2019
  3. Phase Three – April 2019 to March 2022

Features of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana

  • The government would provide an interest subsidy of 6.5% on housing loans availed by the beneficiaries for a period of 15 years from the start of loan.
  • The houses under Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana would be allotted to preferably the female member of the family. Along with this, preference would be given to the female applicants, in general.
  • While allotting ground floors in any housing scheme under the PMAY, preference would be given to differently-abled and older people.
  • The construction of houses under PMAY would be carried out through technology that is eco-friendly.
Test Your Knowledge

What is the annual premium of Pradhan Mantri Jeevan Jyoti Bima Yojana?

Click to View Answer
Answer – Rs 330