Thermal and Nuclear Power Plants in India – Complete List

Day Today GK has prepared a list of Important Thermal and Nuclear Power Plants in India.

It is very important to know about the name and location of Thermal and Nuclear power plants in India. Questions from this topic has appeared in many competitive exams in General Awareness Category.

What is a Thermal Power Plant?

A thermal power station is a power plant in which heat energy is converted to electric power. In most of the places in the world the turbine is steam-driven. Water is heated, turns into steam and spins a steam turbine which drives an electrical generator.

What is a Nuclear Power Plant?

A nuclear power plant is a type of power station that generates electricity using heat from nuclear reactions. These reactions take place within a reactor. The plant also has machines which remove heat from the reactor to operate a steam turbine and generator to make electricity. Electricity made by nuclear power plants is called nuclear power.

Thermal and Nuclear Power Plants in India

Thermal Power Plants in India

S No Thermal Power Plants Name Location
1. Amarkantak TPS Chachai, Madhya Pradesh
2. Anpara TPS Anpara, Uttar Pradesh
3. Anta Thermal Power Station Anta, Rajasthan
4. Arasmeta CPP (private) Janjgir, Chhattisgarh
5. Auraiya Thermal Power Station Dibiyapur, Uttar Pradesh
6. Badarpur TPP Badarpur, NCT Delhi
7. Bakreswar TPS Suri, West Bengal
8. Barauni TPP Barauni, Bihar
9. Barsingsar LignitPower Plant e Barsingsar, Rajasthan
10. Bellary TPP Kudatini, Karnataka
11. Bhusawal TPS Deepnagar, Maharashtra
12. Bokarao Thermal Power Station ‘B’ Bokaro, Jharkhand
13. Chandrapur STPS Chandrapur, Maharashtra
14. Chandrapura Thermal Power Station Chandrapura, Jharkhand
15. Chhabra STPP Mothipura, Rajasthan
16. Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram TPP Yamunanagar, Haryana
17. Dr Narla Tatarao TPS Ibrahimpatnam, Telangana
18. Dr Shyama Prakash Mukharjee TPP Korba, Chhattisgarh
19. Durgapur Thermal Power Station Durgapur, West Bengal
20. Durgapur TPP Durgapur, West Bengal
21. Ennore TPS Ennore, Tamil Nadu
22. Farakka STPS Nagarun, West Bengal
23. Faridabad Thermal Power Plant Mujedi, Haryana
24. Feroz Gandhi Unchahar TPP Unchahar, Uttar Pradesh
25. Gandhinagar TPS Gandhinagar, Gujarat
26. Giral Lignite TPS Thumbli, Rajasthan
27. Guru Gobind SSTP Ghanauli, Punjab
28. Guru Hargobind TP Lehra Mohabbat, Punjab
29. Guru Nanak dev TP Bathinda, Punjab
30. Harduaganj TPS Harduaganj, Uttar Pradesh
31. IB Thermal pp Banharpali, Odisha
32. Indraprashta PS Delhi, NCT Delhi
33. Jharsuguda TPS Jharsuguda, Odisha
34. Jhanor-Gandhar TPS Urjanagar, Gujarat
35. Jindal Megha PP (private) Tamnar, Chhattisgarh
36. JSW Vijanagar PP-II (private) Vijaynagar, Karnataka
37. Kahalgaon STPS Kahalgaon, Bihar
38. Kakatiya TPS Chelpur, Telangana
39. Kaparkheda TPS Kaparkheda, Maharashtra
40. Kawas TPS Adityanagar, Gujarat
41. Kolaghat TPS Mecheda, West Bengal
42. Koradi TPS Koradi, Maharashtra
43. Korba STPP Jamani Palli, Chhattisgarh
44. Kota STPS Kota, Rajasthan
45. Kothagudem TPS Paloncha, Telangana
46. Kothagudem V stage TPS Paloncha, Telangana
47. Kutch Lignite TPS Panandhro, Gujarat
48. Lanco Amarkantak TPP (private) Pathadi, Chhattisgarh
49. Lanco Udupi TPP (private) Nandikoor, Karnataka
50. Mejia Thermal Power Station Durlavpur, West Bengal
51. Mettur TPS Metturdam, Tamil Nadu
52. Muzaffarpur TPP Kanti, Bihar
53. Mundra TPS Kutch, Gujarat
54. Nashik TPS Nashik, Maharashtra
55. National Capital TPP Vidyutnagar, Uttar Pradesh
56. Neyveli TPS 1 Neyveli, Tamil Nadu
57. Neyveli TPS 2 Neyveli, Tamil Nadu
58. North Chennai TPS Athipattu, Tamil Nadu
59. Obra TPS Obra, Uttar Pradesh
60. Panipat TPP 1 Assan, Haryana
61. Panipat TPP 2 Assan, Haryana
62. Panki TPS Panki, Uttar Pradesh
63. Paras TPS Vidyutnagar, Maharashtra
64. Pariccha TPS Pariccha, Uttar Pradesh
65. Parli TPS Parli-Vaijnath, Maharashtra
66. Raichur Super TPS Raichur, Karnataka
67. Rajghat PS Delhi, NCT Delhi
68. Rajiv Gandhi CCPP Kayamkulam, Kerala
69. Ramagundam B TPS Ramagundam, Telangana
70. Ramagundam STPS Jyothi Nagar, Telangana
71. Rayalaseema TPS Cuddapah, Telangana
72. Rihand TPP Rihand Nagar, Uttar Pradesh
73. Rosa TPP (private) Rosa, Uttar Pradesh
74. Sabarmati TPS (Private) Ahmadabad, Gujarat
75. Sagardighi TPS Manigram, West Bengal
76. Sanjay Gandhi TPS Birsinghpur, Madhya Pradesh
77. Satpura TPS Sarni, Madhya Pradesh
78. Sikka TPS Jamnagar, Gujarat
79. Simhadri STPS Simhadri, Andhra Pradesh
80. Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station Shaktinagar, Uttar Pradesh
81. Sipat TPP Sipat, Chhattisgarh
82. Surat Lignite TPS Nani Naroli, Gujarat
83. Suratgarh STPS Suratgarh, Rajasthan
84. Talcher STPS Kaniha, Odisha
85. Talcher TPS Talcher, Odisha
86. Tiroda TPS Tirora, Maharashtra
87. Tanda TPP Vidyutnagar, Uttar Pradesh
88. Tuticorin TPS Tuticorin, Tamil Nadu
89. Ukai TPS Ukai dam, Gujarat
90. Vindhyachal STPS Vidhya Nagar, Madhya Pradesh
91. VS Lignite Power Plant (private) Gurha, Rajasthan
92. Wanakbori TPS Wanakbori, Gujarat

Note : Important Power plants mentioned in bold and blue colour words

Nuclear Power Plants in India

S No Nuclear Power Plants Name Location
1. Kaiga Generating Station (KGS) Kaiga, Karnataka
2. Kakrapar Atomic Power Station (KAPS) Kakrapur, Gujarat
3. Kudankulam Nuclear Power Plant (KKNPP) Kudankulam, Tamil Nadu
4. Madras/ Kalpakkam Atomic Power Station (MAPS) Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu
5. Narora Atomic Power Station (NAPS) Narora, Urttar Pradesh
6. Rawatbhata Atomic Power Station (RAPS) Rawatbhata, Rajasthan
7. Tarapur Atomic Power Station (TAPS) Tarapur, Maharashtra

Did You Know?

  • India’s first power generation company was the private Calcutta Electric Supply Corporation (CESC) started in 1899.
  • The first diesel power plant was set up in Delhi in 1905.
  • The first hydro-electric power station was set up in Mysore in 1902
  • At the time of Independence, about 60% of India’s power sector was privately owned.
  • India has a flourishing and largely indigenous nuclear power program and expects to have 20,000 Mega Watts nuclear capacity on line by 2020 and 63,000 Mega Watts by 2032.  It aims to supply 25% of electricity from nuclear power by 2050.
  • The joule is the unit used to measure thermal energy.
  • In order to convert thermal energy into other forms of energy, a machine such as an engine is needed.
  • When you add ice to a warm drink, some of the drinks’ thermal energy is transferred to the ice which makes the drink cooler.
  • Heat energy can be transferred by three ways: convection, conduction, and radiation.
  • There are roughly 430 nuclear power plants worldwide.
  • The United States produces more nuclear energy than any other country.
  • Radiation and nuclear medicines are used to cure and treat many diseases.
  • Africa is the first country in the world to destroy all of its nuclear weapons voluntarily.
  • If a person is ever exposed to radiation during a nuclear disaster, the first thing they should do is remove their clothing because 90% of the radiation will be located there.
  • Seventy years after Independence, only nine  states – Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Karnataka, Goa, Sikkim, Haryana, Kerala, Punjab and Tamil Nadu – of 28  and 6 union territories – Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Haveli, Lakshadweep and Puducherry have been officially declared totally electrified. Unfortunately this report does not indicate the quality or duration of the supply.
  • Approximately 67% of the world’s power is made by burning fossil fuels to make steam which turns the turbines. These are considered thermal power stations.
  • Approximately 40% of the world’s power is made at thermal power station that burn coal
  • Approximately 22% of the world’s power is made at thermal power station that burn natural gas
  • Approximately 16% of the world’s power is produced by hydro electric power stations
  • Approximately 13% of the world’s power is produced by nuclear power stations

Check out our latest videos on youtube