The Complete List of Indian Olympic Medal Winners

Indian Olympic Medal Winners
Written by Sainath Nuvvula

Indian Olympic Medal Winners

Indian Olympic medal winners – India first participated at the Olympic games in 1900, with a lone athlete (Norman Pritchard) winning two medals- both silver- in athletics. The nation first sent a team to the Summer Olympic Games in 1920 and has participated in every Summer Games since then. India has also competed at several Winter Olympic Games beginning in 1964.

Indian athletes have won a total of 26 medals, all at the Summer Games. For a period of time, India national field hockey team was dominant in Olympic competition, winning eleven medals in twelve Olympics between 1928 and 1980. The run included 8 gold medals total and six successive gold medals from 1928–1956.


SilverNorman Pritchard1900 ParisAthleticsMen’s 200 metres
SilverNorman Pritchard1900 ParisAthleticsMen’s 200-metre hurdles
BronzeKhashaba Dadasaheb Jadhav1952 HelsinkiWrestlingMen’s Freestyle Bantamweight
BronzeLeander Paes1996 AtlantaTennisMen’s singles
BronzeKarnam Malleswari2000 SydneyWeightliftingWomen’s 69 kg
SilverRajyavardhan Singh Rathore2004 AthensShootingMen’s double trap
GoldAbhinav Bindra2008 BeijingShootingMen’s 10 m Air Rifle
BronzeVijender Singh2008 BejingBoxingMen’s 75 kg
BronzeSushil Kumar2008 BejingWrestlingMen’s 66 kg Freestyle
SilverVijay Kumar2012 LondonShootingMen’s 25 Rapid Fire Pistol
SilverSushil Kumar2012 LondonWrestlingMen’s 66 kg Freestyle
BronzeSaina Nehwal2012 LondonBadmintonWomen’s singles
BronzeMary Kom2012 LondonBoxingWomen’s flyweight
BronzeGagan Narang2012 LondonShootingMen’s 10 m Air Rifle
BronzeYogeshwar Dutt2012 LondonWrestlingMen’s 60 kg Freestyle
BronzeSakshi Malik2016 RioWrestlingWomen’s 58kg freestyle
SilverPV Sindhu2016 RioBadmintonWomen’s Singles


GoldNational team1928 AmsterdamField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1932 Los AngelesField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1936 BerlinField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1948 LondonField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1952 HelsinkiField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1956 MelbourneField hockeyMen’s competition
SilverNational team1960 RomeField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1964 TokyoField hockeyMen’s competition
BronzeNational team1968 MexicoField hockeyMen’s competition
BronzeNational team1972 MunichField hockeyMen’s competition
GoldNational team1980 MoscowField hockeyMen’s competition



The 2020 Summer Olympics is officially called the Games of the XXXII Olympiad. The host city of 2020 Summer Olympics in Tokyo, Japan. The games are planned to be held from 24 July to 9 August 2020 in Tokyo.

Motto: Discover Tomorrow

2016 Summer Olympics

Indian Olympic Medal Winners

The 2016 Summer Olympics is officially known as the Games of the XXXI Olympiad. The host city was Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Motto: A new world

Mascot :

  • Vinicius is the official mascot of the 2016 Summer Olympics, and Tom is the official mascot of the 2016 Summer Paralympics.
  • Vinicius’s design represents Brazilian wildlife, combining aspects of cats, monkeys, and birds, while Tom’s design represents Brazilian plant life.

Rio became the first South American city to ever host the Summer Olympics, the second city in Latin America to host the event after Mexico City in 1968, and the first since 2000 to be held in the Southern Hemisphere.

  • The United States topped the medal table for the fifth time in the past six Summer Olympics, winning the most golds (46) and most medals overall (121), as well as its 1,000th Olympic gold medal overall.
  • Great Britain finished second and became the first country of modern Olympics history to increase its tally of medals in the subsequent games after being the host nation.
  • China finished third.


The original Olympic Games were celebrated as a religious festival from 776 B.C. until 393 A.D. when Roman emperor Theodosius I banned all pagan festivals (the Olympics celebrated the Greek god Zeus). On June 23, 1894, French educator Baron Pierre de Coubertin, speaking at the Sorbonne in Paris to a gathering of international sports leaders, proposed that the ancient games be revived on an international scale. The idea was enthusiastically received and the Modern Olympics were born. The first Olympics were held two years later in Athens, where 245 athletes from 14 nations competed in the ancient Panathenaic stadium ttoolarge and ardent crowds. Americans captured nine out of 12 track and field events, but Greece won the most medals with 47.


The move toward a winter version of the Olympics began in 1908 when figure skating made an appearance at the Summer Games in London. Ten-time world champion Ulrich Salchow of Sweden, who originated the backwards, one revolution jump that bears his name, and Madge Syers of Britain were the first singles champions. Germans Anna Hubler and Heinrich Berger won the pairs competition.

ATHENS (1896 Olympics)

Among the remains uncovered was the ancient stadium where the original Olympic Games were celebrated from 776 B.C. to 393 A.D., when Roman emperor Theodosius I banned all pagan festivals. Athletics played an important role in the religious festivals of the ancient Greeks, who believed competitive sports pleased the spirits of the dead. The festivals honouring gods like Zeus were undertaken by many Greek tribes and cities and usually held every four years.


  •  Norway has won the most medals (263) at the Winter Games.
  • The United States has won more medals (2,189) at the Summer Games than any other country.
  • The five Olympic rings represent the five major regions of the world – Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceana, and every national flag in the world includes one of the five colours, which are (from left to right) blue, yellow, black, green, and red.
  • Up until 1994, the Olympics were held every four years. Since then, the Winter and Summer games have alternated every two years.
  • The first Olympics covered by U.S. television was the 1960 Summer Games in Rome by CBS.
  • No country in the Southern Hemisphere has ever hosted a Winter Games


About the author

Sainath Nuvvula

Leave a Comment