Schedules in Constitution of India

Dear Friends,

DayTodayGK has prepared a complete list of Schedules in Constitution of India.

Constitution of India:

  • The Constitution of India is the supreme law of India.
  • It lays down the framework defining fundamental political principles, establishes the structure, procedures, powers and duties of government institutions and sets out fundamental rights, directive principles and the duties of citizens.
  • It is the longest written constitution of any sovereign country in the world.The nation is governed by it.
  • B. R. Ambedkar is regarded as its chief architect.
  • It was adopted by the Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949, and came into effect on 26 January 1950.
  • With its adoption, the Union of India became the modern and contemporary Republic of India replacing the Government of India Act, 1935 as the country’s fundamental governing document. India celebrates its coming into force on 26 January each year, as Republic Day.

What are Schedules?

  • Schedules are lists in the Constitution of India that categorizes and tabulate bureaucratic activities and policy of the Government. Indian Constitution had originally eight schedules.
  • The 9th schedule was added via First Amendment Act, while 10th Schedule was first added by 35th Amendment {Sikkim as Associate State}.
  • Once Sikkim became a state of India, the 10 Schedule was repealed but later added once again by 52th Amendment Act, 1985 in context with the “Anti-defection” law. Here is a brief description of the schedules of Indian Constitution:

Constitution of India have 448 articles in 25 parts, 12 schedules, 5 appendices and 98 amendments.

 Schedules in Indian Constitution

Schedules in Constitution of India

First Schedule:

First Schedule (under Articles 1 and 4) gives a list of the States and Territories comprising the Union. States 1. Andhra Pradesh, 2. Assam, 3. Bihar, 4. Gujarat, 5. Kerala, 6. Madhya Pradesh, 7. Tamil Nadu, 8. Maharashtra, 9. Karnataka, 10. Orissa, 11. Punjab, 12. Rajasthan, 13. Uttar Pradesh, 14. West Bengal, 15. Jammu and Kashmir, 16. Nagaland, 17. Haryana, 18. Himachal Pradesh, 19. Manipur, 20. Tripura, 21. Meghalaya, 22. Sikkim, 23. Arunachal Pradesh, 24. Mizoram, 25. Goa. 26. Jharkhand, 27. Uttarnchal, 28. Chattisgarh.

Union Territories 1. Delhi, 2. Andaman and Nicobar Islands, 3. Laccadive, Minicoy and Amindivi Islands, 4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli, 5. Daman and Diu, 6. Pondicherry, 7. Chandigarh.

Second Schedule:

Second Schedule under Arts. 59(3), 65(3), 75(6), 97, 125, 148(3), 158(3) consists of 5 Parts, A to E.

Part A fixes the remuneration and emoluments payable to the President and Governors. Part B has been deleted by the Constitution (Seventh Amendment) Act of 1956. Part C contains provisions as to the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the House of the People and the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Council of States and the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and the Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Legislative Council. Part D contains provisions as to emoluments of the judges of the Supreme Court and of the High Courts. Part E contains provisions as to the Comptroller and Auditor General of India.

Third Schedule:

Third Schedule (under Articles 75(4), 99, 124(6), 148(2), 164(3), 188 and 219) contains forms of Oaths and Affirmations.

Fourth Schedule :

Fourth Schedule (under Articles 4(1) and (20)) allocates seats for each State and Union Territory, in the Council of States.

Fifth Schedule:

Fifth Schedule (under Articles 244(1) provides for the administration and control of Scheduled Areas. This schedule provides for amendment by a simple majority of Parliament and takes it out of the ambit of Article 368 (Amendment of the Constitution).

Sixth Schedule:

Sixth Schedule (under Articles 214(2) and 275(1)) provides for the administration of Tribal Areas in Assam, Meghalaya and Mizoram. This is a lengthy schedule which goes into the details of the administration in the Tribal Areas concerned. This schedule can also be amended by a simple majority of Parliament.

Seventh Schedule:

Seventh Schedule (under Article 246) gives three Lists : 1. Union List contains 97 subjects in which the Union government has exclusive authority; 2. State List contains 66 subjects which are under the exclusive authority of State governments; 3. Concurrent List contains 47 subjects, where the Union and States have concurrent powers

Eighth Schedule :

Eighth Schedule (under Articles 344(1) and 351(1) gives a lot of 22 languages recognised by the Constitution : 1. Assamese, 2. Bengali, 3. Gujarati, 4. Hindi, 5. Kannada, 6. Kashmiri, 7. Malayalam, 8. Marathi, 9. Oriya, 10. Punjabi, 11. Sanskrit, 12. Sindhi, 13. Tamil, 14. Telugu, 15, Urdu, 16. Konkani, 17. Manipuri, 18. Nepali, 19. Santhali, 20. Maithili, 21. Bodo, 22. Dogri

Ninth Schedule:

Ninth Schedule (under Article 31(B) was added by the Constitution (First Amendment) Act, 1951. It contains Acts and Orders relating to land tenures, land tax, railways, industries, etc., passed by the State governments, and Union Government which are beyond the jurisdiction of civil courts.

Tenth Schedule:

Tenth Schedule (under Articles 101, 102, 191 and 192). It contains the Anti-defection Act.

Eleventh Schedule:

Eleventh Schedule (under Article 243 G) mentions functional areas or subjects that are necessary for implementation of schemes for economic development and social justice in each Panchayat. To mention a few- agriculture, social forestry, small scale industry, roads, rural housing, PDS, education, health & sanitation, poverty- Ileviation, non-conventional energy sources etc.

Twelfth Schedule:

Twelfth Schedule mentions three types of municipal committees- nagar panchayats for transitional area, municipal council for smaller urban areas and municipal corporation for large urban areas.

Check out our latest videos on youtube