Roger Federer wins Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award

The 2016 ATP World Tour Awards were announced  and Juan Martin del Potro and Roger Federer were among those who were honored. Del Potro was named the Comeback Player of the Year and Federer received the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award. Both awards were decided by a player vote.

  • Del Potro began the year ranked 590th and made his season debut at the Delray Beach Open in February. The former U.S. Open champion went 30-12 on the year, won the Stockholm Open for his first title since 2014 and finished 2016 ranked No. 38. The Argentine won a silver medal at the Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro—upsetting Novak Djokovic and Rafael Nadal in the process—and reached the quarterfinals of the U.S. Open.
  • The 28-year-old, who recovered from multiple surgeries to repair his left wrist, also won this award in 2011. Del Potro beat out nominees Julien Benneteau, Ivo Karlovic and Florian Mayer in this category.
  • Federer took home the Sportsmanship Award for the sixth year in a row, and it’s his 12th overall. The Swiss had an injury-plagued campaign, playing just 28 matches (21-7) over seven events. He didn’t win a title for the first time since 2000 and is out of the Top 10 for the first time since 2002.


Check out our latest videos on youtube