Prime Ministers of India – Complete List

Prime Ministers of India
List of Prime Ministers of India

List of Prime Ministers of India

List of Prime Ministers of India – The Prime Minister of India is the chief executive of the Government of India. In India’s parliamentary system, the Constitution names the President as head of state de jure, but his or her de facto executive powers are vested in the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers. The main supervisory of Government of India is the Prime Minister of India. The Prime Minister is elected by Indian citizens. The Prime Minister is generally the head of the party or union that has a majority in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India’s legislature.

Since 1947, India has had fourteen Prime Ministers, fifteen including Gulzarilal Nanda who twice acted in the role.

List Of  Prime Ministers Of India & Their Party

S No
NamesTerm of  officeParty
1.Jawaharlal Nehru1947-1964Indian National Congress
2.Gulzarilal Nanda1964-1964(13 days)Indian National Congress
3.Lal Bahadur Shastri1964-1966Indian National Congress
4.Gulzarilal Nanda1966-1966(13days)Indian National Congress
5.Indira Gandhi1966-1977Indian National Congress
6.Morarji Desai1977 -1979Janata Party
7.Charan Singh1979-1980Janata Party (Secular)
with INC
8.Indira Gandhi1980-1984Indian National Congress (I)
9.Rajiv Gandhi1984-1989Indian National Congress (I)
10.V. P. Singh1989-1990Janata Dal
(National Front)
11.Chandra Shekhar1990-1991Samajwadi Janata Party
with INC
12.P. V. Narasimha Rao1991-1996Indian National Congress (I)
13.Atal Bihari Vajpayee1996-1996(16 days)Bharatiya Janata Party
14.H. D. Deve Gowda1996-1997Janata Dal
(United Front)
15.I. K. Gujral1997-1998Janata Dal
(United Front)
16.Atal Bihari Vajpayee1998-2004Bharatiya Janata Party
17.Manmohan Singh2004-2014Indian National Congress
18.Narendra Modi2014-IncumbentBharatiya Janata Party

Did You Know?

  • The first Prime Minister of Independent India was Pt Jawaharlal Nehru and at present, the Prime Minister of India is Mr Narendra Modi who has leading the BJP since 26/05/14.
  • The only person who worked twice as the Acting Prime Minister for 13 days each – Gulzarilal Nanda.
  • Indira Gandhi was the first person who belonged to Rajya Sabha during nomination as Prime Minister.
  • Rajiv Gandhi was the youngest ever Prime Minister of India. He was sworn in as Prime Minister the same day when Indira Gandhi was assassinated.
  • P V Narasimha Rao was the first Prime Minister from a non-Hindi belt (South India).
  • The PM who is called Father of Economic Reforms of India – P V Narasimha Rao.
  • Atal Bihari Vajpayee was the first parliamentarian to give a speech in Hindi to the United Nations General Assembly.
  • Only three persons belonged to Rajya Sabha during their nomination for Prime Minister – 1st Indira Gandhi, 2nd H D Devegoda and 3rd I K Gujaral.


Leave a Comment