Portfolios of Union Council of Ministers – Complete List

Updated on September 13/2015

Dear Friends,

DayTodayGK has prepared a complete list of Portfolios of Union Council of Ministers. Before knowing who heads the individual Ministry, it is very important to know about the basic difference between Cabinet Ministers, Minister of State and Independent Charge.

What’s the Difference?

Cabinet Minister

Cabinet Minister or Union Minister is treated as the head of a particular ministry such as Education, Health, Home, Finance, Defence etc. Cabinet Minister possesses maximum authority and responsibility. A Cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other Ministries, where no other Cabinet minister is appointed.

Minister of State

Minister of State (MoS) is junior to Cabinet Minister. Each cabinet minister has Minister of State. Every MoS reports to either Cabinet Minister or Independent charge of ministry, they works in close coordination. MoS are not called to the Cabinet meetings.

MoS with Independent Charge

A Minister of State with independent charge is a minister without an overseeing Cabinet Minister in the State or Union Government of India. He himself is in charge of his ministry. Moreover such ministers can take part in cabinet meetings on important issues.

Portfolios of Union Council of Ministers 

Prime Minister Narendra ModiPersonnel, Public Grievances and Pensions

Department of Atomic Energy

Department of Space

All important policy issues and

All other portfolios not allocated to any Minister

 Cabinet Ministers

Raj Nath SinghHome Affairs
Sushma SwarajExternal Affairs

Overseas Indian Affairs

Arun JaitleyFinance

Corporate Affairs

Information & Broadcasting

M. Venkaiah NaiduUrban Development
Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
Parliamentary Affairs
Nitin Jairam GadkariRoad Transport and Highways
Manohar ParrikarDefence
Suresh PrabhuRailways
D. V. Sadananda GowdaLaw and Justice
Su    Uma BharatiWater Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
Dr. Najma A. HeptullaMinority Affairs
Ramvilas PaswanConsumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Kalraj MishraMicro, Small and Medium Enterprises
Maneka Sanjay GandhiWomen and Child Development
AnanthkumarChemicals and Fertilizers
Ravi Shankar PrasadCommunications and Information Technology
Jagat Prakash NaddaHealth and Family Welfare
Ashok Gajapathi Raju PusapatiCivil Aviation
Anant GeeteHeavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Harsimrat Kaur BadalFood Processing Industries
Narendra Singh TomarMines
Chaudhary Birender SinghRural Development
Panchayati Raj
Drinking Water and Sanitation
Jual OramTribal Affairs
Radha Mohan SinghAgriculture
Thaawar Chand GehlotSocial Justice and Empowerment
Smriti Zubin IraniHuman Resource Development
Dr. Harsh VardhanScience and Technology
Earth Sciences

Minister of State (Independent Charge)

General V. K. SinghStatistics and Programme Implementation (Independent Charge)
External Affairs
Overseas Indian Affairs
Inderjit Singh RaoPlanning (Independent Charge)
Santosh Kumar GangwarTextiles (Independent Charge)
Bandaru DattatreyaLabour and Employment (Independent Charge)
 Rajiv Pratap RudySkill Development & Entrepreneurship (Independent Charge)
Parliamentary Affairs
 Shripad Yesso NaikAAYUSH (Independent Charge)
Health & Family Welfare
Dharmendra PradhanPetroleum and Natural Gas (Independent Charge)
Sarbananda SonowalYouth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge)
 Prakash JavadekarEnvironment, Forest and Climate Change (Independent Charge)

Piyush Goyal

Power (Independent Charge)
Coal (Independent Charge)
New and Renewable Energy (Independent Charge)
Dr. Jitendra SinghDevelopment of North Eastern Region (Independent Charge)
Prime Minister’s Office
Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions
Department of Atomic Energy
Department of Space
Nirmala SitharamanCommerce and Industry (Independent Charge)
Dr. Mahesh SharmaCulture (Independent Charge)
Tourism (Independent Charge)
Civil Aviation
Minister of State
Ram Kripal YadavDrinking Water and Sanitation
Mukhtar Abbas NaqviMinority Affairs
Parliamentary Affairs
Haribhai Parthibhai ChaudharyHome Affairs
Sanwar Lal JatWater Resources
River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
Mohanbhai Kalyanjibhai KundariyaAgriculture
Giriraj SinghMicro, Small & Medium Enterprises
Hansraj Gangaram AhirChemicals & Fertilizers
G. M. SiddeshwaraHeavy Industries and Public Enterprises
Manoj SinhaRailways
NihalchandPanchayati Raj
Upendra KushwahaHuman Resources Development
Radhakrishnan PRoad Transport & Highways
Kiren RijijuHome Affairs
Krishan PalSocial Justice & Empowerment
Dr. Sanjeev Kumar BalyanAgriculture
Mansukhbhai Dhanjibhai VasavaTribal Affairs
Raosaheb Dadarao DanveConsumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution
Vishnu Deo SaiMines
Sudarshan BhagatRural Development
Prof. (Dr.) Ram Shankar KatheriaHuman Resource Development
Y. S. ChowdaryScience and Technology
Earth Science
Jayant SinhaFinance
Col. Rajyavardhan Singh RathoreInformation & Broadcasting
Babul Supria (Babul Supriyo) BaralUrban Development
Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation
Sadhvi Niranjan JyotiFood Processing Industries
Vijay SamplaSocial Justice & Empowerment


1 Comment

Leave a Comment