National Commission for Minorities

The Union Government set up the National Commission for Minorities (NCM) under the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992.

Six religious communities, viz; Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains have been notified as minority communities by the Union Government.


  1. Evaluate the progress of the development of Minorities under the Union and States.
  2. Monitor the working of the safeguards provided in the Constitution and in laws enacted by Parliament and the State Legislatures.
  3. Make recommendations for the effective implementation of safeguards for the protection of the interests of Minorities by the Central Government or the State Governments.
  4. Look into specific complaints regarding deprivation of rights and safeguards of the Minorities and take up such matters with the appropriate authorities.
  5. Cause studies to be undertaken into problems arising out of any discrimination against Minorities and recommend measures for their removal.
  6. Conduct studies, research and analysis on the issues relating to socio-economic and educational development of Minorities.
  7. Suggest appropriate measures in respect of any Minority to be undertaken by the Central Government or the State Governments.
  8. Make periodical or special reports to the Central Government on any matter pertaining to Minorities and in particular the difficulties confronted by them.


The current commission consists of:

Chairperson: Shri Naseem Ahmad(4.3.2014–Present )

Vice Chairperson: Vacant

Members :

  1. Ajaib Singh-(06-09-2012–Present )
  2. Tsering Namgyal Shanoo- (31.5.2013–Present )
  3. Farida Abdulla Khan-(23.10.13-Present )
  4. Ms Mabel Rebello-(2.12.13-Present)
  5. Shri Praveen Davar-(27-1-14-Present)
  6. Shri Dadi E. Mistry-(10.3.2014–Present)

Check out our latest videos on youtube