Infosys Science Foundation announces six 2016 Infosys Prize winners

Infosys Science Foundation has announced the coveted Infosys Prize 2016 and six achievers, including Professor V Kumaran of the department of chemical engineering at Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, have emerged as winners.

  • Kumaran won the prize in the Engineering and Computer Science category for making contributions in the field of cardiovascular and pulmonary health.
  • Other winners included Prof Sunil Amrith (Humanities), Dr Gagandeep Kang (Life Sciences), Prof Akshay Venkatesh (Mathematical Sciences), Dr Anil Bharadwaj (Physical Scien ces) and Prof Kaivan Munshi (Social Sciences).
  • Cash prize of Rs 65 lakh each, a 22 karat gold medallion and a citation certificate will be given to the six winners of the Infosys Prize 2016. The six will be felicitated by Royal Society and Nobel laureate on January 7 in Bengaluru.
  • This year witnessed the highest number of 252 nominations out of which six were announced winners by Infosys founder NR Narayana Murthy, foundation president SD Shibulal said.

The list of winners:

  • Prof V Kumaran from the Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Science (IISc) — Engineering and computer science
  • Prof Sunil Amrith from Harvard University, US — Humanities
  • Dr Gagandeep Kang from Technology Institute (THSTI), Faridabad — Life sciences
  • Prof Akshay Venkatesh from Stanford University, US — Mathematics
  • Dr Anil Bhardwaj from Space Physics Laboratory, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram — Physical Sciences
  • Prof Kaivan Munshi from University of Cambridge, UK — Social sciences

Check out our latest videos on youtube