India win Colombo Test; beat Sri Lanka by 117 runs in the third test

India registered its first Test series win in Sri Lanka in over 22 years by defeating Angelo Matthews’ side by 117 runs. India’s last series success in Sri Lanka came under Mohammad Azharuddin’s captaincy in 1993 when they won 1-0. Virat Kohli lead Indian team win the three-match series 2-1. After setting Sri Lanka a 386-run victory target, India needed seven wickets on the final day.

Resuming on 67-3, Sri Lanka lost two wickets in the morning session before the 135-run stand between Mathews and Perera. The duo put on a resolute 135-run partnership for the sixth wicket, the second-highest stand in the fourth innings in Sri Lanka’s Test history. India grabbed the last five wickets for 26 runs after Sri Lanka were sailing at a comfortable 242-5 before Perera’s dismissal.

Ashwin provided the vital breakthrough by breaking the sixth-wicket partnership with Perera’s wicket. Off-spinner R Ashwin was the pick of the Indian bowlers with four for 69 while paceman Ishant Sharma scalped three for 32. Umesh Yadav chipped in with two for 65.

  • Charlie Bannerman from Australia scored the first century in Test cricket in 1877
  • The only rule that did not change in Cricket over time is the length of the pitch.
  • The official laws of cricket were first created in 1744, by the Marylebone Cricket Club in London, England
Test Your Knowledge

Name the famous Sri Lankan Cricket Player who was retired after the second test match? 

Click to View Answer
Answer – Kumara Sangakkara

The Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium is in

Click to View Answer
Answer – Andhra Pradesh

Check out our latest videos on youtube