Foundation Days of Indian States – Complete List

Foundation Day of Indian States – Foundation Day is a designated date on which celebrations mark the founding of the state. All the states have the history of their formation. This is one of the important topics in competitive exams which comes under GK category.

List of Foundation Day of Indian States




1Nagaland DayJanuary 1
2Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura DayJanuary 21
3Jammu-Kashmir DayFebruary 6
4Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh DayFebruary 20
5Andaman and Nicobar Islands DayMarch 11
6Bihar Day( Bihar Diwas)March 22
7Rajasthan DayMarch 30
8Utkal(Orissa) DayApril 1
9Tamil Nadu DayApril 14
10Himachal PradeshApril 15
11Gujarat and Maharashtra DayMay 1
12Sikkim DayMay 16
13Telangana DayJune 2
14Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala and Andhra Pradesh DayNovember 1
15Uttaranchal DayNovember 9
16Jharkhand DayNovember 15
17Goa DayDecember 19

Facts about Foundation date of Indian States

1. Gujarat, a western state in India often referred to as the ‘Jewel of Western India’ marks its foundation on May 1.

2. The Himachal Pradesh state is home to a number of hill stations that tourists flock to all year around. Some of the popular ones include Shimla, Manali, Kasol, Chail and Dharamsala.

3. Tamil Nadu is the second largest contributor to India’s GDP.

4. Rajasthan State – enlarged by adding Ajmer state and parts of Madhya Pradesh and Bombay state.

5. Punjab State – enlarged by the addition of Patiala and East Punjab States Union.

6. Madhya Pradesh- was formed by merging Madhya Bharat province, Vindhya Pradesh and Bhopal State.

Leave a Comment