Shashank Manohar elected unopposed as BCCI President

Shashank Manohar of the Vidarbha Cricket Association takes over as BCCI president. He was declared elected unopposed at a special general meeting at the Cricket Centre in Mumbai. The election was necessitated by the sudden demise of Jagmohan Dalmiya, who had a short term of seven months after his election in March this year.

All the six units of East Zone unanimously proposed Mr. Manohar’s candidature for the president’s post, reflecting Mr. Srinivasan’s diminishing hold in Board’s power politics.  Mr. Srinivasan skipped the meeting and the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association was represented by P.S. Raman.

Mr. Manohar’s name was proposed by Sourav Ganguly from Bengal, Sourav Dasgupta from Tripura, Gautam Roy from Assam, Ashirbad Behera of Odisha and Sanjay Singh of Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA).

The 2013 IPL spot fixing scandal that singed Mr. Srinivasan, following his son-in-law and IPL team Chennai Super Kings’ former principal Gurunath Meiyappan being found guilty of betting on the T20 League games, led to the Supreme Court sidelining him from holding the reins of the BCCI.

Test Your GK

Name the committee which conducted an independent inquiry into the allegations of corruption against BCCI chief N. Srinivasan’s son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan and others regarding the spot fixing and betting in IPL 2013?

Click to View Answer
Answer – Mudgal Committee

Name the two IPL teams suspended for two years?

Click to View Answer
Answer – Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals.