Ramon Magsaysay Award Winners from India – Complete List

Ramon Magsaysay Award Winners from India

Ramon Magsaysay Award is an annual award established to honor former Philippine President Ramon Magsaysay. The prestigious award is being given to outstanding individuals/organizations – regardless of race, creed, nationality and gender – who manifests greatness of spirit in service to the Asian people since 1958. The Ramon Magsaysay Award is often considered to be an Asian equivalent to the Nobel Prize. The prize was established in April 1957 by the trustees of the Rockefeller Brothers Fund based in New York City with the concurrence of the Philippine government.

The awards were given in six categories, five of which were discontinued effectively in 2009. The categories are,

  • Government Service (1958–2008)
  • Public Service (1958–2008)
  • Community Leadership (1958–2008)
  • Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts (1958–2008)
  • Peace and International Understanding (1958–2008)
  • Emergent Leadership (2001– )
  • Uncategorized (2009– )

The below table contains the details of Indians who won the prestigious award. Keep visiting our website regularly for updated information on various topics relating to General Knowledge. Face your competitive examinations with full confidence.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Winners from India
Name of the Winner
Vinobha Bhave1958Community Leadership
Chintaman Deshmukh1959Government Services
Amitabha Chowdhury1961Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Mother Teresa1962Peace and International Understanding
Dara Khurody1963Community Leadership
Verghese  Kurien1963Community Leadership
Tribhuvandas Patel1963Community Leadership
Welthy Fisher1964Peace and International Understanding
Jayaprakash Narayan1965Public Service
Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay1966Community Leadership
Satyajit Ray1967Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Moncompu Sambasivan Swaminathan1971Community Leadership
M.S. Subbalakshmi1974Public Service
Boobli George Verghese1975Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Henning Holck-Larsen1976Peace and International Understanding
Ela Ramesh Bhatt1977Community Leadership
Mabelle Arole1979Community Leadership
Rajanikant Arole1979Community Leadership
Gour Kishore Gosh1981Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Pramod Karan Sethi1981Community Leadership
Chandi Prasad Bhatt1982Community Leadership
Manibhai Desai1982Public Service
Arun Shourie1982Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Rasipuram Lakshman1984Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Muralidhar Amte1985Public Service
Lakshmi Chand Jain1989Public Service
K.V. Subbanna1991Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Ravi Shankar1992Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Banoo Jehangir Coyaji1993Public Service
Kiran Bedi1994Government Services
Pandurang Athavale1996Community leadership
Tirunellai Seshan1996Government Services
Maheshweta Devi1997Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts
Jockin Arputham2000Peace and International Understanding
Aruna Roy2000Community Leadership
Rajendra Singh2001Community Leadership
Sandeep Pandey2002Emergent Leadership
James Michael Lyngdoh2003Government Services
Shantha Sinha2003Government Services
Lakshminarayan Ramdas2004Peace and International Understanding
V. Shantha2005Public Service
Arvind Kejriwal2006Emergent Leadership
Palagummi Sainath2007Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts
Mandakini Amte2008Community Leadership
Deep Joshi2009Community Leadership
Neelima Mishra2011Emergent Leadership
Harish Hande2011Community Leadership
Kulandei Francis2012Emergent Leadership
Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi2015Emergent Leadership
Bezwada Wilson

Thodur Madabusi Krishna

2016Human rights activist

Carnatic music

Bharat Vatwani

Sonam Wangchuk

2018Restoring health and dignity to troubled lives

Education for community progress

Ravish Kumar2019Journalist (“Prime Time” show on NDTV)


Leave a Comment