Playwright Reoti Saran Sharma passes away

Eminent playwright Reoti Saran Sharma, who penned memorable television serials like Phir Wahi Talaash and The Great Maratha, passed away at the age of 92. He is born on October 1, 1924; All India Radio broadcast more than 150 radio plays written by him, some of which were translated into regional languages. He was conferred with the Sangeet Natak Akademi award in 2007 for his contribution to Hindi theatre (dramatic literature and performance). Saran was also the winner of Ghalib award and Sahitya Kala Parishad Awards.

He took over the reins of Indian Chapter of International Theatre Institute in the 70’s and championed India’s cause at the world congress for more than two decades. Reoti Saran Sharma has penned more than 150 radio plays which were broadcast in the national programme and some of them were translated into all the Indian languages.

Noted plays written by Sharma include ‘Na Dharam Na Iman’, ‘Deepshika’ and ‘Andehere ke Beta’. He authored the script of television serials like ‘Aur Bhi Gam Hain Zamane Mein’, ‘Lena-Dena’, ‘Phir Wahi Talaash’, ‘Adhikaar’ and ‘Great Maratha’.

“Sharma took over the reins of the Bharatiya Natya Sangh in the 70’s which is now the Indian Chapter of International Theater Institute,” a statement released by his family said. He was married to Sarla Devi and is survived by two sons, grandchildren and great grandchildren.