Panneerselvam sworn in as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

In a swift political transition following the death of J Jayalalithaa, Tamil Nadu’s Finance Minister and an old Jaya loyalist O Panneerselvam was sworn in as the state Chief Minister in a sombre ceremony at Raj Bhavan at around 2 am on 6 December 2016.

  • At a solemn ceremony in the Raj Bhavan, Mr. Panneerselvam was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Ch. Vidyasagar Rao. This was his third swearing-in as Chief Minister.
  • Within hours of Jayalalithaa’s passing away at 11.30 pm at Chennai’s Apollo Hospital, all the AIADMK MLAs met at the party headquarters and elected Panneerselvam as Jayalalithaa’s successor.
  • Panneerselvam, the MLA from Bodinayakanur, then met Governor C Vidyasagar Rao and submitted a letter informing him of his election as leader of the AIADMK Legislature Party.
  • Panneerselvam, along with 31 other ministers, was then sworn in as Chief Minister at Raj Bhavan.
  • He will hold all portfolios held by Jayalalithaa including Home, besides Finance. He has also retained all the members of the Jayalalithaa Cabinet.
  • This is the third time Panneerselvam, 65, has become the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.
  • Unlike the last time when he turned emotional, Panneerselvam this time was calm and composed while being administered the oath.