Padma Awards 2016

On the eve of Republic Day, the government has announced the list for the Padma Awards 2016 and it seems girl power gets prominence on the list this year. Padma Awards were instituted in 1954 and except for brief interruptions during the years 1977 and 1980 and 1993 to 1997, these awards have been announced every year on Republic Day.

About Padma Awards:-

  • One of the highest civilian Awards of the country, are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
  • The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service, etc.
  • ‘Padma Vibhushan’ is awarded for exceptional and distinguished service; ‘Padma Bhushan’ for distinguished service of high order and ‘Padma Shri’ for distinguished service in any field.
  • These awards are conferred by the President of India at ceremonial functions which are held at Rashtrapati Bhawan usually around March/ April every year.

This year the President of India has approved conferment of Padma Awards to 112 persons. The total awardees comprises of 10 Padma Vibhushan, 19 Padma Bhushan and 83 Padma Shri Awardees. 19 of the awardees are women and the list also includes 10 persons from the category of foreigners, NRIs, PIOs (include one posthumous) and 4 Posthumous awardees.

Padma Bhushan :-

Sania Mirza (tennis queen)
Saina Nehwal (badminton ace)
Udit Narayan (singer)
Ram Sutar (sculptor)
Vinod Rai (former CAG)
Anupam Kher (Bollywood Actor)
Indu Jain (Bennett, Coleman & Co)
Swami Tejomayananda (spiritual leader)
Heisnam Kanhailal (theatre personality)
Professor D Nageshwar Reddy (Gastroenterologist)
Robert D Blackwill (Former US Ambassador to India)
Professor N S Ramanuja Tatacharya (sanskrit scholar)
Barjinder Singh Hamdard (managing editor of the Punjabi newspaper ‘Daily Ajit’)

Padma Vibhushan :-

Rajinikanth (Bollywood Actor)
Yamini Krishnamurthi(Classical Dance)
Girija Devi (Classical Singing)
Shri Jagmohan (Public Affairs)
Shri Shri Ravi Shankar ( Spiritualism)
Dr Viswanathan Shanta (Medicine-Oncology)
Ramoji Rao (Literature and Education in Journalism)
Dr Vasudeva Kalkunte Aatrre (Science & Engineering)
Reliance Industries founder late Dhirubhai Ambani will also be awarded.

Padma Shri :-

Ujjwal Nikam (Senior lawyer)
Ajay Devgn and Priyanka Chopra (Bollywood actors)
SS Rajamouli (Director)
Malini Awasthi (Bhojpuri singer)
Deepika Kumari (archer)
Saeed Jaffrey (Actor)
Dr Mayilsamy Annadurai (ISRO Scientist and Director)

Check out our latest videos on youtube