Nepal declares Kathmandu Valley as crisis-hit zone

Nepal declared its three districts in the Kathmandu Valley as the crisis-hit zone, in order to curtail civil rights in order to demolish and clear the infrastructure damaged by the quakes and reconstruct them.

A Cabinet meeting on 15th June 2015 decided to declare the Kathmandu Valley districts – Kathmandu, Bhaktapur and Lalitpur.

Points to Remember:

  1. The decision was made based on the provisions in the Natural Calamity (Relief) Act, 1982.
  2. Nepal is still recovering from two major quakes and several aftershocks that have killed nearly 9,000 people and left a trail of destruction.

Nuts and Bolts of Nepal

  1. Nepal is a landlocked country located in South Asia.
  2. Nepal is the world’s 93rd largest country by land mass.
  3. Nepal is separated from Bangladesh by the narrow Indian Siliguri Corridor and from Bhutan by the Indian state of Sikkim.
  4. Capital: Kathmandu
  5. Official Language: Nepali
  6. President: Ram Baran Yadav
  7. Prime Minister: Sushil Koirala