List of Parliaments of Different Countries

Dear Friends,

DayTodayGK has prepared a detailed post on List Parliaments of different countries.

What is Parliament?

In any democratic form of government the supreme legislative body is called as Parliament. It is also the executive governing body of the country. Parliament, Congress, National Assembly etc are the common names used to represent this legislative body.

The Legislature can be Unicameral or Bicameral. Smaller countries with small constituencies may prefer Unicameral legislature but bigger countries generally have Bicameral type legislature. In Bicameral legislature the Parliament have two houses- the Lower House and the Upper House. The members of lower house are generally directly elected from citizens while members of Upper house are generally nominated.

List of Parliaments of different countries

Below is the list of Parliament’s name in some of the Famous countries of the world.

List Parliaments of Different Countries

S No.   Country  Parliament
1 Afghanistan Shora
2 Andorra General Council
3 Albania People’s Assembly
4 Azerbaijan Melli Majlis
5 Algeria National People’s Assembly
6 Angola National People’s Assembly
7 Argentina National Congress
8 Australia Federal Parliament
9 Austria National Assembly
10 Bahamas General Assembly
11 Bahrain Consultative Council
12 Bangladesh Jatiya Sansad
13 Bhutan Tsogdu
14 Bolivia National Congress
15 Brazil National Congress
16 Brunei National Assembly
17 Botswana National Assembly
18 Britain Parliment (House of Common’s and House of Lords)
19 Bulgaria Narodno Subranie.
20 Cambodia National Assembly
21 Congo Democratic Rep. of National Legislative Council
22 Colombia Congress
23 Canada Parliament
24 China National People’s Assembly
25 Chile Chamber of Deputies and Senate
26 Cuba National Assembly of People’s Power
27 Denmark Folketing
28 Ecuador Natinal Congress
29 Finland Eduskusta (Parliament)
30 Germany Bundestag (Lower House) and Bundesrat (Upper House)
31 Guyana National Assembly
32 Greece Chamber of Deputies
33 India Sansad
34 Indonesia People’s Consultative Assembly
35 Iran Majlis
36 Iraq National Assembly
37 Israel Knesset
38 Japan Diet
39 Jordan National Assembly
40 Korea(North) Supreme People’s Assembly
41 Korea(South) National Assembly
42 Kuwait National Assembly
43 Laos People’s Supreme Assembly
44 Labanon National Assembly
45 Lesotho National Assembly and Senate
46 Lithuania Seimas
47 Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies
48 Libya General People’s Congress
49 Malaysia Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara
50 Maldives Majlis
51 Madagascar National People’s Assembly
52 Mongolia Great People’s Khural
53 Montenegro Federal Assembly
54 Mozambique People’s Assembly
55 Myanmar Pyithu Hluttaw
56 Nepal Rashtriya Panchayat
57 Netherlands The Staten General
58 New Zealand Parliament (House of Representative)
59 Oman Monarchy
60 Pakistan National Assembly & Senate
61 Paraguay Senate & Chamber of Deputies
62 Philippines The Congress
63 Papua New Guinea National Parliament
64 Poland Sejm
65 Romania Great National Assembly
66 Russia Duma & Federal Council
67 Serbia Federal Assembly
68 Senegal National Assembly
69 Seychelles People’s Assembly
70 Singapore Parliament
71 Spain Cortes
72 Sri Lanka Sri Lankavay Parlimentuwa
73 Saudi Arabia Majlis Al Shura
74 Sudan Majlis Watani
75 Switzerland Federal Assembly
76 Syria People’s Council
77 Turkey Grand National Assembly
78 Tajikistan Majlisi Oli
79 Thiland Ratthasapha
80 Vietnam National Assembly
81 Venezuela National Congress
82 Zambia National Assembly

Facts about Indian Parliament

  • The Parliament of India is circular which represents “Continuity”.
  • The library in the Indian Parliament is the second largest in India.
  • Around 12 noon MPs can discuss any important topic with prior notice to the Speaker. This is known as Zero Hour.
  • Parliament canteen is the cheapest in the country with 3 course veg meal in 61 Rs and Chicken Biryani for Rs. 51.
  • The unique circular structure of our parliament stands out from the other government buildings around the world, and is considered to be among the best architectural designs.

Check out our latest videos on youtube