Indian Wells Title: Bianca Andreescu & Dominic Thiem emerged as Title Winners

Dominic Thiem ended Roger Federer’s bid for a record sixth Indian Wells title with a battling three-set victory in the final in California. The Austrian seventh seed fought back to beat Federer 3-6 6-3 7-5. Swiss Federer, a 20-time Grand Slam champion, converted just two of 11 break points and made 32 unforced errors to Thiem’s 25. Thiem secured his first title at a Masters 1000 event and will rise to fourth in the world rankings.

Bianca Andreescu’s remarkable Indian Wells run culminated with the wildcard beating three-time Grand Slam champion Angelique Kerber to secure the title. The 18-year-old Canadian, ranked outside the top 150 at the start of the year, beat the German 6-4 3-6 6-4. Kerber saved three match points on the Andreescu serve and broke back to trail 5-4 in the third set. However, Andreescu produced a remarkable return game to win the biggest title of her fledgling career.

Leave a Comment