India to bid for FIFA U-20 World Cup

India will bid to host the 2019 Under-20 World Cup in the coming months as part of its endeavour to develop the game in the country, All India Football Federation President Praful Patel said Patel was confident that winning the bid to host the 2017 Fifa Under-17 World Cup would go a long way to help India gain the opportunity.

FIFA U-20 World Cup:

The FIFA U-20 World Cup, until 2005 known as the FIFA World Youth Championship, is the world championship of football for male players under the age of 20 and is organized by Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). The Championship has been awarded every two years since the first tournament in 1977 held in Tunisia.

In the nineteen tournaments held, only nine nations have won the title. Argentina is the most successful team with six titles, followed by Brazil with five titles. Portugal and Serbia won two titles (once as Yugoslavia), while Ghana, Germany, Spain, France and Russia (as the Soviet Union) have won the title once each.


Formation :21 May 1904; 112 years ago

Motto :For the Game. For the World.

Headquarters :Zürich, Switzerland

Membership:211 national associations

President : Gianni Infantino
Senior Vice-President : Issa Hayatou
Vice-Presidents : Ángel María Villar

Leave a Comment