Germany to develop three smart cities in India

Germany is going to participate in the smart city programme of the Union government. The European country will help to develop Kochi, Bhubaneswar and Coimbatore as smart cities. The State Secretary in Germany’s Ministry for Environment, Gunther Adler, announced this in New Delhi at the second meeting of the Indo-German working group on urban development. Under the smart city programme, the three cities will use technology to monitor the use of daily facilities such as electricity, gas, oil, transport, water and even harvest.

Germany had earlier set up a six-member joint committee with India to identify the cities which it could develop as smart cities. The committee had two representatives of Urban Development Ministry, one from the Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation, and three from Germany.

Here is the list of 20 smart cities:

1. Bhubaneswar, Odisha

2. Pune, Maharashtra

3. Jaipur, Rajasthan

4. Surat, Gujarat

5. Kochi, Kerala

6. Ahmedabad, Gujarat

7. Jabalpur, Madhya Pradesh

8. Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh

9. Sholapur, Maharashtra

10. Davangere, Karnataka

11. Indore, Madhya Pradesh

12. New Delhi Municipal Corporation

13. Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

14. Kakinada, Andhra Pradesh

15. Belagavi, Karnataka

16. Udaipur, Rajasthan

17. Guwahati, Assam

18. Chennai, Tamil Nadu

19. Ludhiana, Punjab

20. Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Germany is India’s second largest bilateral donor with a record commitment of 1.5 billion Euros (Rs 11,0000 crore) agreed last year. Meanwhile, India and the US have also agreed on formulating action plans for development of smart cities in Allahabad, Ajmer and Visakhapatnam.

Want to know more about Smart City?

Then Read – Smart City Decoded by D2G