Economic Affairs Secretary Shaktikanta Das joins SEBI board

Economic Affairs Secretary Shaktikanta Das has joined the board of capital markets regulator SEBI. Das has replaced Manoj Joshi as nominee of the Finance Ministry on SEBI’s board. Joshi is currently Joint Secretary (Capital Markets) in the ministry.

Das has also been nominated to the Central Board of Directors of the Reserve Bank. He is a 1980-batch IAS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre. Other members on the board are Sebi chairman U K Sinha and the regulator’s whole time members — Rajeev Kumar Agarwal, Prashant Saran and S Raman.

Tapan Ray, secretary at Ministry of Corporate Affairs and R Gandhi, Deputy Governor at Reserve Bank, too are on the board of Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI). Meanwhile, Sinha’s current tenure will end in February, although he is eligible for a one-year extension on age criteria.

Did You Know?

The Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) is the regulator for the securities market in India.

It was established in the year 1988 and given statutory powers on 12 April 1992 through the SEBI Act, 1992.

On September 2015, the Forward Markets Commission (FMC), the erstwhile commodities regulatory body, was merged with the capital markets watchdog SEBI.

Try this…

Who is the current Chairman of SEBI?

Click here
Answer – UK Sinha