Complete List of Chief Ministers and Governors of all States of India 2024

Complete List of Chief Ministers and Governors of all States of India 2024

Know all the Chief  Ministers & Governors of all States

Chief Ministers and Governors of all states of India – It is very important to know about all the states and the chief ministers of the state and Governor of the particular state.

Day Today GK has come up with the full information on the chief minister and Governors of individual state. Enjoy reading and please do subscribe our social media Channels as we are looking for some social love.

Chief Ministers and Governors

Chief Ministers and Governors

Who is the Chief Minister?

The Chief Minister is the leader of the Legislative Assembly of the State. On Chief Minister’s advice, the Governor exercises his functions in matters like summoning, proroguing or, if necessary, dissolving the Legislative Assembly.

Appointment of the Chief Minister is formally made by the Governor. The usual practice is that after the General Election is over, the Governor invites the leader of the majority party in the State Legislature to become the Chief Minister.

If the Chief Minister resigns, the entire Council of Ministers is bound to resign. The CM has to keep a watchful eye on the public opinion at the time of formulating government policy and performing his functions.

The Chief Minister can ask any minister to resign if he is not happy with his work. No law can be framed without the will of the Chief Minister. The Chief Minister is the principal advisor of the Governor. He takes the advice of the Chief Minister on all the issue.

Tenure of the Chief Minister is maximum for five years.

Who is the Governor?

The Governor is the chief executive of a State in India. The powers and functions of the Governor of Indian State resemble that of the President of the Union Government.

The Governor is appointed by the President of India. He holds office during the pleasure of the President. Any citizen of 35 years of age and above is eligible but he must not hold any other office of profit, nor be a Member of Parliament or State Legislature.

Check Out Constituency of Cabinet Ministers – Updated List

Complete List of Chief Ministers & Governors of  all states of India 2023

State Chief Minister Governor
Andhra Pradesh Jagan Mohan Reddy S. Abdul Nazeer
Andaman and Nicobar Island (UT) Admiral Devendra Kumar Joshi (Lieutenant Governor)
Arunachal Pradesh Pema Khandu Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik
Assam Himanta Biswa Sarma Gulab Chand Kataria
Bihar Nitish Kumar Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar
Chandigarh (UT) Banwarilal Purohit
Chhattisgarh Vishnu Deo Sai Biswabhusan Harichandan
Dadra and Nagar Haveli (UT) Praful Khoda Patel (Administrator)
Daman and Diu (UT) Praful Khoda Patel (Administrator)
Delhi (NCT) Arvind Kejriwal Vinai Kumar Saxena (Lt. Governor)
Goa Pramod Sawant P.S. Sreedharan Pillai
Gujarat Bhupendra Patel Acharya Devvrat
Haryana Manohar Lal Khattar Bandaru Dattatraya
Himachal Pradesh Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu Shiv Pratap Shukla
Jammu and Kashmir (UT) Manoj Sinha (Lieutenant Governor)
Jharkhand Hemant Soren C. P. Radhakrishnan
Karnataka Siddaramaiah Thaawarchand Gehlot
Kerala Pinarayi Vijayan Arif Mohammed Khan
Ladakh (UT) B. D. Mishra (Lieutenant Governor)
Lakshadweep (UT) Praful Khoda Patel (Administrator)
Madhya Pradesh Mohan Yadav Mangubhai Chhaganbhai Patel
Maharashtra Eknath Shinde Ramesh Bais
Manipur N Biren Singh Anusuiya Uikey
Meghalaya Conrad Kongkal Sangma Phagu Chauhan
Mizoram Lalduhoma Dr. Kambhampati Haribabu
Nagaland Neiphiu Rio La. Ganesan
Odisha Naveen Patnaik Raghubar Das
Puducherry (UT) V  Narayanasamy Dr. Tamilisai Soundarajan
Punjab Bhagwant Mann Banwarilal Purohit
Rajasthan Bhajan Lal Sharma Kalraj Mishra
Sikkim Prem Singh Tamang Lakshman Acharya
Tamil Nadu M. K. Stalin R. N. Ravi
Telangana Anumula Revanth Reddy Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan
Tripura Manik Saha Indrasena Reddy
Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath Anandiben Patel
Uttarakhand Pushkar Singh Dhami Lt. Gen. Gurmit Singh
West Bengal Mamata Banerjee Dr. C.V. Ananda Bose


1. Which union territories have chief ministers?

Jammu and Kashmir and Puducherry were the only two Union Territories in India that had Chief Ministers elected to their positions.

It is important to keep in mind that the status of Union Territories and the forms of administration that govern them are subject to change. It is recommended that you verify the most recent information in order to obtain the most recent specifics.

In the year 2019, there were talks and adjustments made about the status of Jammu and Kashmir, and it is possible that additional developments have taken place since such time.

2.Who is youngest CM in India?

One of the youngest Chief Ministers in India was Pema Khandu, who served as the Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh. The 17th of July, 2016, he took office, making him 37 years old at the time.

Having said that, it is important to keep in mind that political situations are subject to change, and it is recommended that this information be verified with the most recent sources.

3. Who is First Woman Chief Minister in India?

Sucheta Kripalani was the first woman to hold the position of Chief Minister in India. She was elected to the position of Chief Minister of the state of Uttar Pradesh in India, a position she held from 1963 till 1967.

With her term, she became the first woman to ever assume the position of Chief Minister in an Indian state, which was a significant milestone in the history of Indian politics.

In addition to being a renowned political figure, Sucheta Kripalani was also a leader in the initiative to achieve Indian independence.

Check out our latest videos on youtube