Brazil defeat Peru 3-1 to win their 9th Copa America title

Brazil have defeated Peru 3-1 to win their first Copa America title since 2007. Everton led the team to victory, scoring a goal and setting up another to give Brazil their ninth Copa América trophy, and fifth at home. Gabriel Jesus and Richarlison also scored a goal each for Brazil, who have won the title every time they hosted the tournament.

Everton was named player of the final and also finished as one of the tournament’s top scorers with three goals. Brazil’s veteran right-back Dani Alves was player of the tournament. Brazil won despite playing with 10 men from the 70th minute because Jesus was sent off with a second yellow card.

Peru scored through Paolo Guerrero but could not pull off one last upset after eliminating Uruguay in the quarterfinals and two-time defending champion Chile in the semifinals.

It is the ninth time Brazil have won the Copa America and is their first tournament success since winning a gold medal at the 2016 Olympics. The victory also maintained their record of winning the Copa America every time they have hosted it.

Check out our latest videos on youtube