BJP MP Om Birla elected as Lok Sabha Speaker

NDA nominee and BJP MP from Kota, Om Birla has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha. All major political parties including Congress, DMK, TMC, BJD, TDP, YSR Congress, JD(U) and Shiv Sena supported the motion moved by Prime Minister and Leader of the House, Narendra Modi to choose Om Birla as the Lok Sabha Speaker.

Later, Pro-tem speaker Dr Virendra Kumar declared Om Birla as the Speaker. Prime minister along with other leaders of different political parties escorted Om Birla to the Speaker’s chair. PM said Om Birla has been in public life for years and worked for the BJP for a long time. Mr Modi added that Om Birla represents from Kota, a place that is mini-India, a land associated with education and learning.

Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury assured full support of his party for the smooth functioning of the House. Every member of the house has expressed hope that the Speaker will conduct the House impartially.

DMK leader T R Baalu, Union minister and Shiv Sena leader Arvind Sawant, TMC leader Sudip Bandyopadhyay, JD(U) leader Rajiv Ranjan, BJD leader Pinaki Mishra and Shyam Singh Yadav of BSP congratulated Om Birla and assured their support for the smooth functioning of the House.

Leave a Comment