Argentina women’s team wins 2016 Champions Trophy title of Hockey

The Argentina women’s team has claimed a record seventh Champions Trophy title with a 2-1 win over reigning World and Olympic champions, the Netherlands, in the final at the Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre. In the bronze medal game, USA battled to a shootout victory over Australia, giving the team a first Champions Trophy medal since wining bronze at the 1995 event in Mar del Plata, Argentina. With this victory, Argentina women’s team has won the Champions Trophy title of Hockey for record seventh time. Earlier they had won it in 2001, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012 and 2014.

Final Standings

  1. Argentina
  2. The Netherlands
  3. USA
  4. Australia
  5. Great Britain
  6. New Zealand

Individual Awards

  • Best player: Carla Rebecchi (ARG)
  • Best junior player: Maria Granatto (ARG)
  • Best goalkeeper: Joyce Sombroek (NED)

Did You Know?

  • Hockey was introduced in the Olympic Games for the first time in 1908 in London.
  • Indian Hockey Federation (IHF) was formed on the 7th November, 1925 at Gwalior.
  • Since 1944, National Hockey Championship is organised by the IHF every year.
  • All India Women’s Hockey Federation was formed in 1947.
  • India took that part in Olympics for the first time in 1928 (in Amsterdam Olympics)
  • In Olympics, India has won the hockey title a maximum of 8 times. The first World Cup Hockey was played in Barcelona in 1971.

Check out our latest videos on youtube