Agriculture Expert Ramesh Chand appointed as new full time member of NITI Aayog

Government of India has appointed Agriculture expert Prof Ramesh Chand as the full-time member of NITI Aayog. Professor Chand has been a member of the task force on agriculture development under NITI Aayog. He has also headed a government panel on minimum support price and has been working as the Director of National Institute of Agricultural Economics and Policy Research (NIAP) in New Delhi since 2010.

NITI Aayog - Points to Remember
  • The Government of India announced formation of NITI Aayog on 1 January 2015.
  • The National Institute of Transforming India, NITI Aayog is under the Chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.
  • It has been set up in place of Planning Commission.
  • It has noted economist Aravind Panagariya as its Vice Chairman while economist Bibek Debroy and former DRDO Chief VK Saraswat along with agriculture expert Ramesh Chand now as full time members.
  • The Planning Commission had no representation for state and Union Territories. But the NITI Aayog has.
  • NITI Aayog’s Governing Council comprising the Chief Ministers of all the States and Union territories with Legislatures and lieutenant governors of other Union Territories.
  • Ex-Officio Members: Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh.
Test Your Knowledge

Who is the present Chief Executive Officer of NITI Aayog?

Click to View Answer
Answer – Sindhushree Khullar



Leave a Comment